Thursday, February 20, 2014

Honor Among Orcs Cover Art!

I am so, SO excited to share my cover art for Honor Among Orcs with you today!

long time readers of the blog might remember me talking about this book under a different name -- Orc Romance -- and ever since those early days, this book as been one of my absolute most favorite manuscripts. Don't get me wrong, I love Fate of the Gods too (and Thor! so much ThorLove!) but Honor Among Orcs surprised me in so many ways, and as a writer, I think writing this manuscript was one of those "level-up" experiences that helped me to grow.

Basically, I'm really proud of this book. And I'm just as proud of the cover art, created by Melissa Stevens, who somehow, someway, reached into my brain and produced Bolthorn EXACTLY the way I had imagined him, all the while being an absolute dream to work with.

So, let me drag this out a little bit longer with some Cover Copy first--

Tolkien meets Beauty and the Beast in this new romantic fantasy by Amalia Dillin, author of the Fate of the Gods trilogy. 

After nearly a decade as the king’s whipping-girl, Princess Arianna has no intention of going quietly into marriage to some treasonous noble, or serving obediently as the king’s spy until her death is more convenient. When she discovers a handsome orc, chained and trapped inside a magic mirror, Arianna cannot help but see a lasting freedom from her father's abuse.

Left to rot inside a mirror by the king, Bolthorn never imagined his prayers would be answered by a princess. Nor did he ever expect to meet so worthy a woman after knowing her father’s cruelty. He needs her help to escape the mirror before the king marches against the orcs, but all he can offer Arianna is ice and darkness in exchange for her aid.

If Arianna can free the monster behind the glass, perhaps she might free herself, as well. But once they cross the mountain, there will be no return, and the deadly winter is the least of what threatens them on the other side.

Fans of Kristin Cashore's FIRE and Tolkien's Lord of the Rings will appreciate the collision of romance, adventure, and epic fantasy -- all with a new adult edge -- in Honor Among Orcs.
And finally, the art itself!

Created by Melissa Stevens, The Illustrated Author



And with this reveal, let me also say -- I'm looking for around 20 advance readers for Honor Among Orcs, to read and write reviews (in advance of release on Goodreads, and on release day, April 1, on Amazon/Barnes and Noble) to help spread the word about Bolthorn and Arianna! Advance reader copies are e-only (though there will likely be some goodreads giveaways of a print version, too) and available as epub or mobi files. If you're interested, shoot me an email at amaliatdillin(at)gmail(dot)com and let me know your preferred filetype!

12 comments:

  1. Ooooo!!!! So many muscles... *fetches drool catcher*

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. yeah, I'm not ashamed to admit I've been ogling Bolthorn for weeks.

      Delete
  2. Replies
    1. Thanks! I thought my artist captured the atmosphere of the book perfectly!!

      Delete
  3. I just caught your post over in the NaNo FB group. A love story with an orc?? Heck yeah! Sending you that email now to hopefully be an advanced reader. ;)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yesssss! So glad you popped over and think it sounds awesome!

      Delete
    2. It definitely sounds awesome! There aren't nearly enough books with orcs as protagonists/important characters, so I try to read them whenever I'm lucky enough to come across them. :D

      Delete
    3. I *almost* didn't cross post to the nano group, but now I'm extra glad I did!

      Delete
    4. Eep! In that case, I'm doubly glad that you did!

      Delete
  4. I so WANT to get an advance copy and read it now! But not being sure I'll be able to have it done by April, I know I'm consigned to reluctantly waiting.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I appreciate your enthusiasm, all the same! :)

      Delete

Comments are Love!