Sunday, November 17, 2019

Concealing Fate has arrived! Faults of Fate is coming soon!

So I missed Concealing Fate's release day but it's here! For Kindle and in Paperback, if that is your jam! Huzzah!

I'm pretty excited about this one, and I loved writing it, so I hope you'll enjoy reading it, too. And displaying it on your bookshelf, maybe, because I know I will be!

Anyway, the real impetus of this blogpost is that I wanted to offer some notes regarding the reading order now that there are I don't even know how many novellas in this series--5? Yeah. Maybe that's getting a smidge out of hand but I offer no apology because playing with this series and in this sandbox and with these characters is too much fun and I refuse to give it up, like it or lump it!

Reading Order. Right.

So, Concealing Fate is technically a prequel to the present timeline of Forged by Fate, the first book in the Fate of the Gods trilogy. (And we've discussed how the present timeline is maybe not as present day as it could be at this point, but such is life and the lag between writing of publishing.) And if you're NEW to my Fate of the Gods trilogy, I would definitely say, go ahead and read Concealing Fate first!! It will give you a little bit more grounding for the relationship that you are dumped into the middle of in Forged by Fate's opening chapters, and a little bit more insight into the character of Garrit DeLeon--and getting the chance to write half of Concealing Fate from his point of view was at least 50% of the appeal of writing this novella at all.


If you've already read the main trilogy, I think it makes more sense to read Enduring Fate first, before Concealing Fate, because as a PAIR, chronologically, that's how they work. The events of Enduring Fate take place in the life just before Eve's Present Timeline--and having that past fresh in your reader mind going into Concealing Fate gives added context for the choices she makes in how she engages with Garrit.

NB to New Readers: If you have not read Fate Forgotten (Fate of the Gods #2), Enduring Fate will spoil it!

Which brings me to Faults of Fate, the forthcoming novella paperback collection.

I'm assuming that those of you who are buying Faults of Fate are long time fans and readers. So I collected these two novellas in chronological order rather than New-Reader Reading Order. Enduring Fate, followed by a bonus scene that is kind of a peek at what inspired its events--which might otherwise feel spoilerish if read beforehand--and then Concealing Fate, which will lead you back into Forged by Fate, if you're that kind of re-reader (I know I am.)

It's quirky and weird, I know, and the way the timelines are all interwoven, it makes the reading order a little more dodgy than another series might be, but such is the nature of this particular beast, and I hope you'll all keep following along anyway, because it's been a wild, wonderful ride, and I don't think I'm done yet.

In Conclusion, a New Reader Reading Order:
    ↬ Concealing Fate (Prequel Novella, collected in Faults of Fate)
1) Forged by Fate
    ↪ Tempting Fate (collected in Facets of Fate)
2) Fate Forgotten
    ↪ Taming Fate (collected in Facets of Fate)
    ↪ Enduring Fate (collected in Faults of Fate)
3) Beyond Fate
    ↪ Finding Fate (Epilogue Novella, exclusively available in Facets of Fate, the first Fate of the Gods Collection.)
NB: you can buy Concealing Fate and Enduring Fate independently for kindle. At this time, I have no plans to make Faults of Fate a digital release--and it will be the only paperback edition of Enduring Fate I put out. If you'd like to read the bonus scene that is available in Faults of Fate's paperback, it's on Patreon, and it will only cost you a dollar a month to access it, PLUS you'll get to read a bunch of other fun stuff, too.

And for those of you RETURNING after already reading the primary trilogy:
1) Forged by Fate
2) Fate Forgotten
3) Beyond Fate
4) Facets of Fate (the first Fate of the Gods Novella Collection)
    ↪ Tempting Fate (Mia and Adam, Present Timeline)
    ↪ Taming Fate (Ryam DeLeon and Eve, 15th Century)
    ↪ Finding Fate (Marcus, Near Future Epilogue)
5) Faults of Fate (the forthcoming PAPERBACK Fate of the Gods Novella Collection)
    ↪ Enduring Fate (Eve and Thor, 1914-1920)
    ↪ Concealing Fate (Garrit DeLeon and Eve, Present Timeline Prequel)
Questions or Comments? Hit me up below! Or via email, even, I'm happy to chat!

Forged by Fate (Fate of the Gods, #1) Tempting Fate (Fate of the Gods, #1.5) Fate Forgotten (Fate of the Gods, #2) Taming Fate (Fate of the Gods, #2.5) Beyond Fate (Fate of the Gods, #3) Facets of Fate Honor Among Orcs (Orc Saga, #1) Blood of the Queen (Orc Saga, #2) Postcards from Asgard
Amazon | Barnes&Noble 

Helen of Sparta By Helen's Hand Tamer of Horses Daughter of a Thousand Years A Sea of Sorrow: A Novel of Odysseus
Amazon | Barnes&Noble

No comments:

Post a Comment

Comments are Love!

(Nota Bene: During #NAMEthatBUTT season, all comments are moderated and your guesses are hidden until after the butt is revealed!)